What are the security monitoring activities?
What are the security monitoring activities?

What is security monitoring in cloud computing?

Cloud security monitoring is the practice of continuously supervising both virtual and physical servers to analyze data for threats and vulnerabilities. Cloud security monitoring solutions often rely on automation to measure and assess behaviors related to data, applications and infrastructure.

What is a security monitoring policy?

The purpose of the Security Monitoring Policy is to ensure that information resource and technology security controls are in place, are effective and are not being bypassed. One of the benefits of security monitoring is the early identification of wrongdoing or new security vulnerabilities.

What are the four types of cloud networking?

There are four main types of cloud computing: private clouds, public clouds, hybrid clouds, and multiclouds.

What is logging and monitoring policy?

Essentially, an organization's security logging and monitoring policy should drive what is logged, how logs are transmitted, log rotation, retention, storage, etc. One of the primary reasons for enabling security logging is to support forensic investigations around potential or realized breaches.

How can network monitoring be made secure?

  1. Install And Monitor Firewall Performance.
  2. Update Passwords At Least Every Quarter.
  3. Lean on Advanced Endpoint Detection.
  4. Create A Virtual Private Network (VPN)
  5. Train Your Employees.
  6. Filter and Delete Spam Emails.
  7. Shut Down Computers When Not in Use.
  8. Encrypt Your Files.

What is a continuous monitoring method?

Continuous monitoring is the process and technology used to detect compliance and risk issues associated with an organization's financial and operational environment. The financial and operational environment consists of people, processes, and systems working together to support efficient and effective operations.

What are the different types of network monitoring?

4 categories of network monitoring

  • Availability monitoring. Availability monitoring is the simplest way for network teams to know if a device is up and operational.
  • Configuration monitoring.
  • Performance monitoring.
  • Cloud infrastructure monitoring.

What are the 5 main types of cloud computing?

Here are the five main types of cloud computing deployment systems:

  • Public clouds. Public clouds are a type of cloud computing run by a third-party cloud provider.
  • Private clouds.
  • Hybrid clouds.
  • Multi-clouds.
  • High-performance computing (HPC) cloud.


What does SaaS stand for?

Software as a service
What is SaaS? Software as a service (or SaaS) is a way of delivering applications over the Internet—as a service. Instead of installing and maintaining software, you simply access it via the Internet, freeing yourself from complex software and hardware management.

How do you implement monitoring and logging?

Determine the right solution for logging and monitoring Automate as much of the monitoring process as possible. Constantly tune your alerts and log sources as threats evolve. Ensure that log and alerts are generated in a standardized format.

What are the benefits of monitoring?

6 Key Benefits Of Monitoring & Evaluation

  • Gives Clear and Concise Information on What is Happening. When carrying out any project, it is crucial to keep in mind data clarity.
  • Input Monitoring.
  • Risk and Reward Evaluation.
  • Assessing New Possibilities.
  • Overall Progress Report.
  • Innovation and diversity of Opinions and Thoughts.


Why is continuous monitoring important?

Continuous monitoring enables management to review business processes for adherence to and deviations from their intended performance and effectiveness levels. Thanks to CM, DevOps professionals can observe and detect compliance issues and security threats.

Which tool are useful for continuous monitoring?

Nagios. Nagios is one of the DevOps tools for continuous monitoring. It is a widely-used open-source tool. In a DevOps culture, Nagios can assist to monitor systems, applications, services, and business processes.

What is security assessment tools?

What is CSAT? The Cyber Security Assessment Tool (CSAT) is a software product developed by seasoned security experts to quickly assess the current status of your organizations security and recommend improvements based on facts.

What are the 4 main types of vulnerability?

The different types of vulnerability In the table below four different types of vulnerability have been identified, Human-social, Physical, Economic and Environmental and their associated direct and indirect losses.

What are the 5 stages of risk management?

Steps of the Risk Management Process

  • Identify the risk.
  • Analyze the risk.
  • Prioritize the risk.
  • Treat the risk.
  • Monitor the risk.

What are the basic monitoring types?

Monitoring types – basic and detailed

  • Basic monitoring: Basic monitoring is free and it collects data at a five-minute time interval.
  • Detailed monitoring: Detailed monitoring is chargeable and it makes data available at a one-minute time interval.

What are the three basic tools for monitoring?

There are three basic categories of monitoring; technical monitoring, functional monitoring and business process monitoring. These are shown in the diagram below. These three categories have a very clear hierarchy.

What are security methods?

A security policy must be able to prevent sensitive information from being modified or retrieved by unauthorized users, but easy enough to administer.

What are the three security tools?

4 Types of Security Tools that Everyone Should be Using

  • Firewalls. A firewall is the first (of many) layers of defense against malware, viruses and other threats.
  • Antivirus Software.
  • Anti-Spyware Software.
  • Password Management Software.


What are the 4 types of cloud storage?

Let's look at the different types of cloud storage solutions:

  • Private cloud storage. Private cloud storage is also known as enterprise or internal cloud storage.
  • Public cloud storage.
  • Hybrid cloud storage.
  • Community cloud storage.


What are the six layers of cloud services?

Software as a Service, Software plus Services » Cloud Application. Platform as a Service » Cloud Platform. Storage as a Service, Cloud Attached Storage » Cloud Storage. Infrastructure as a Service, Hardware as a Service » Cloud Infrastructure.

Is Netflix a SaaS?

Yes, Netflix is a SaaS company that sells software to observe permitted videos on demand. It follows a subscription-based model whereby the user selects a subscription plan and pays a stable sum of money to Netflix monthly or annually.

Is Gmail a SaaS?

Gmail is one famous example of an SaaS mail provider. PaaS: Platform as a Service The most complex of the three, cloud platform services or “Platform as a Service” (PaaS) deliver computational resources through a platform.

Which of the following is not a type of monitoring?

Answer. 'Program' is the correct answer.

How do you do a physical security assessment?

Use these suggestions to make sure you're doing everything right and keeping your place secure from harm.

  1. Identify Risk. The first step is to understand your risks.
  2. Assess Threats and Vulnerability |
  3. Review Current Site and Facility Security |
  4. Review Facility Operating Procedures |
  5. Review Physical Security Systems |

What is the function of OS security assessment?

These assessment tools help in identifying the security issues and prioritize the issue based on severity. These tools provide proper directions for QA testers on where to focus and helps in identifying potential security gaps.